[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Providing Alcohol to Minors

The state of Texas is strict on underage drinking and the laws regarding minors who consume or possess of alcohol. Most of the time, these laws pertain to the youth offenders themselves, although there are situations in which adults can be charged with related crimes. Providing alcohol to a minor is a serious offense that can lead to severe penalties.

If you or someone you love has been charged with providing alcohol to a minor, you need the help of an experienced defense attorney. Contact Austin criminal defense lawyer Ian Inglis at (512) 472-1950 to speak to a member of our legal team today.

Penalties for Providing Alcohol to Minors

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) defines providing alcohol to minors as a Class A misdemeanor, which means that anyone convicted of this crime may face the following punishments:

  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Suspended driver's license for 180 days
  • Liability for damages caused by the intoxicated minor

This crime puts the safety of minors in danger and may result in costly injuries to others, so the court system seeks to take aggressive action against violators. A defense attorney may be able to help defendants have their charges reduced or dropped.

Contact Us

If you or someone you love has been accused of providing alcohol to a minor, it is important that you discuss your situation and defense options with a legal professional. Contact Austin criminal defense attorney Ian Inglis at (512) 472-1950 for a free consultation.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]